How When to Fold ‘Em

September 4, 2013 at 7:27 pm 8 comments

students

I can’t say for sure when it began, this feeling that it’s time to move on. I first noticed it earlier this summer at Horry Georgetown Technical College, Conway campus. I had gone there for a book signing, and since I had a few minutes before the signing was scheduled to officially begin, I went for a stroll through one of the buildings where I used spend a lot of time. My office(s) were always in that building, and for a couple of decades, that’s where most of my classes were held too.

That summer afternoon I located the office of an old friend, and as I approached the door, I saw that it was shut, and I could hear a conference call taking place on the other side. Disappointed that I wouldn’t get to chat with my former colleague, I turned away and began walking towards the hallway. That’s when I saw a young woman of about 30 looking at me.

“Ma’am, can I help you find something?”she asked.

“No thanks,” I told her. “I’m not lost.”

I realized with a little twinge that I had been working at the college before that child was even born and that I had stood in that spot on plenty of yesterdays. In fact, the doorway where she stood was outside of the office where I been interviewed by Tom Reid, the man who hired me to teach four sections of English. He got promoted and moved to a bigger, nicer office with a window view. I knew several other people who later occupied that space, including a friend of mine who held the position of dean of students on an interim basic. Sure glad walls can’t talk! They’ve have some stories to tell.

Then I went for a stroll down the main hall of the 200 building and I saw every classroom filled with high school students who are part of an early college entry program. I passed the lecture room and remembered that we used to have faculty meetings there. It’s ludicrous to think about such a thing today. There are so many employees and so many departments and so many campuses!

Gee Whiz. So many changes. Back in the day, none of us dreamed that Automotive Technology would fall by the wayside and that Nursing, Dental Hygiene, and Culinary Arts would become popular programs. There are even online faculty who never set foot on campus. Twenty years ago, I wouldn’t have known what online meant. Something straight and to the point?

On my way back to where the book signing was to take place, I couldn’t resist walking down a narrow hallway where I once had an office. There was a young woman working there who looked up as I passed by. How many hours had I spent on that very hallway and how many people had I glanced up at with that same look of, “I hope you aren’t going to interrupt me” on my face? Where were my former buddies, my hall mates?

Back at the bookstore for the EVENT, I mentioned to one of the employees that the bookstore used to be the library. She was a polite young woman who said, “Oh really?” I knew she was just being mannerly and that she didn’t care one iota about the many changes that had taken place at the college. But me? Well, I could feel the ghosts of students and employees of yesterday all around me. Where was BB these days?

I didn’t sell many books that day, but I did get to talk with several former colleagues and meet some new people. But best of all, the events of the afternoon awakened some unconscious thoughts lurking just beneath the surface. That afternoon signals the beginning of my humming some lines from Kenny Rogers’ song, “You got to know when to hold ‘em, know when to fold ‘em….”

What about you, Dear Reader? Have you ever had feelings or inner “promptings” telling you when it was time to move on to another chapter in your life?

Entry filed under: changes, changes in education, college students, education, faculty, higher education, memories, Online Classes, teaching, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

End of Semester Thoughts Listening to Myself

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa Anderson  |  September 5, 2013 at 2:04 am

    Although I am only 25, and I still have yet to graduate college… I can see where you are coming from. Chris and I last year stopped by with our son Christopher to see our band teacher from High School Mr. Price. We walked up to the parking lot (Where he has Marching Band Practice) and talked with him and our fellow alumni. Thinking to myself that it has been 7 years now that we have graduated High School, building memories, and families of our own, I often sit and I wonder about things. About where my fellow peers are? Are they still in town? Are they married? Do they have children? Facebook and other social media sites have changed the way we view things and see people. I no longer see “my best friend” from HIgh School (actually I have seen her, but that was in 2011) and I have new friends now that are “family oriented”, past the partying stage, and being in their own element that matches mine.
    In my own space of mind I think… People change. Life Changes. Things Happen. The past is now really the past… but the future is always looking mighty bright 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. marlajayne  |  September 5, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      You’re so right about your future being bright. About the high school experiences, someone was quizzing me the other day about what I had done in high school (clubs, sports, and so forth), and he seemed disappointed and maybe even a little surprised that I hadn’t been more involved. I just said, “Don’t you know that life goes on after high school? In fact, it gets better and better!”

      Reply
  • 3. Martha Schreiber  |  September 5, 2013 at 2:51 am

    I had a conversation with a loved one today about moving on. I explained that all of the things I have done in my life, right or wrong, are in the past and the past is what they will always be. I told her that I have learned many wonderful lessons and experienced great joys as well as much sadness, and that the most important thing to me, as I grow old, is to remember even the “bad” times as the good ole days! After all, there is something about the past that you just can’t change.

    Reply
    • 4. marlajayne  |  September 5, 2013 at 1:59 pm

      Amen to this, Martha! We’ve all been through the “refiner’s fire,” and those experiences have made us better. And the past……I often wonder why some people just cannot let it go. Even when it’s incredibly painful or depressing, they still hang on for dear life.

      Reply
    • 5. marlajayne  |  September 17, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and posting this thought-provoking comment, Martha.

      Reply
  • 6. Kim Blum-Hyclak  |  September 5, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Great post Jayne. Definitely have had those urgings to move on and when I’m smart and listen to them, and not try to hold on too tightly to the past, I always find something better and a better fit. May your new phase of life be as fulfilling as your past obviously has been.

    Reply
    • 7. marlajayne  |  September 5, 2013 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Kim. I’ve been reading a book entitled 7000 Ways to Listen that Kathryn Lovatt recommended, and one of the many things the author discusses is the importance of listening to oneself.

      Reply
    • 8. marlajayne  |  September 17, 2013 at 9:05 pm

      Thanks, Kim. Still “listening” as I try to figure out what’s next.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

September 2013
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30